Posted by: tlboehm | January 2, 2010

Ascendency 2010

I have been a victim

Spattered by the saline spray

Of tears

Breakers crashing

The roaring surf

Blood in my ears rushing

Unable to fill the chasm

When dreams hit reality

Frail hope shatters

Scattered like gulls in the wake

Of a squall line

That dichotomy of sand and sky

Boundaries blur

Jetties endure the burden

Of the coming storm

This relentless tide hammers fragile shores

Limited ability to absorb the fallout

I find myself washed out to sea

Carried away

Forever swimming parallel to safety

Facetious hope a contagion

So acceptable to take on water

The annealing of complacency and stubborn faith

Simply a tonic for fools

I will be a victim

No more

My eyes are dry

I am weathered but unbroken

No more dredging the bottom for broken bones

And abandoned dreams

My reality waits

For me to stop treading turbulent water

And simply ascend

TL Boehm

01/01/10

© 2010

  

OH YES! So lets just cut to the chase, shall we? The poem above isn’t the greatest but I promised Sharon I was going to make it my first post of the year…and so there it is. Thank you, Sassy. You are a constant inspiration.

 And now for the first randomized blog of the decade…

 I got home last night a tad early. The boys were out shopping for movies and I found myself with time to burn. So I added 25 songs to my project playlist, had a couple of beers, and the last cry of the year. Sometimes, when we drop out of hyperspace, we are met by our grief, our regret, our loss and we simply have to deal with it until we can jump again. I will always miss my dad. I will always open Christmas cards from friends and see them a little older, and I must come to terms with it. But I don’t have to be tormented.

 So I am done with mourning over all I lost in 2009. I am purposed. Focused. I am loaded for bear.  I won’t list the resolutions. I’ll just put ’em all into action and see if anyone notices.

 Today, I am celebrating with my family. The slipper clad, tie dyed shirt sportin’ man is grillin’ cow parts, the boys are poning each other on the XBox, the cat hasn’t dropped a kitteh suhpryz on anything, I have a cold beer and a keyboard…Oh yeah. Life is good.

 For those of you who put up with me this past year, I cannot articulate how much I appreciate you. Thank you for weathering the storm. Thank you for speaking light into my life. You have no idea how much you mean to me.

 Yes, I’ll be cloggin up the bandwidth with bad poetry and Jesuscheez and all kinds of stuff this next year. Its who I am. Its what I do. But one thing will definitely change and that is, I will be spending time on YOUR page too.

 Peace and blessings for 2010! (Its gonna be an AMAZING year)

Leave a Reply

Categories

