Posted by: tlboehm | February 6, 2010

New Year, New Beginnings 010410

“From small beginnings come great things.”

 Proverb quotes

 

New Year, new beginnings

 

The dawn waits

Blushing scarlet before she steps

Scarlet skirts spilling

Over cool blue mountain crests

Breathless she arrives

Slipping in your window

Your face awash with light and life…

Love wells up in a rush

Spilling from my eyes

Shh…they’re happy tears…

Just yesterday, or maybe the day before

I cupped that fuzzy head of yours

In the palm of one hand

As that first drooly smile bubbled up

And I lost my mind for you…

Now you’re grown

Dreaming of your own

That doe eyed Jewish girl

So high, can you see the curve of the earth

Reflected in her eyes

Does she make your heart race, child?

I’ll hold that first smile for you

Sacred

Give her the rest but this one is mine…

Its just too much

Hush…these happy tears…

 

Never thought I could love like I love you

Like Diana I got an heir and a spare

Your banshee brother

The terminus of endless screaming nights

How far away they are

Hair like a lion,

Skinny jeans and a fedora,

You’ve never been mine

Oh God, these ragged tears…

I lost my heart on you

An addict craving your arms around me

Without asking

I can’t get enough

The pretty girls, they smile shy

When you aren’t looking

You’ll break their hearts

But this ache is mine.

You stir in your sleep

As I whisper these prayers

Your lives on the wing

Send you off into your future

Don’t wake them yet, these happy tears…

Give them your best

But this moment…is mine.

TL Boehm

01/02/10

© 2010

Wow. That one got me….the husband is in the kitchen, slicing onions…perhaps I could still mask my inane bawling if I went out there and commandeered the knife. Or not.

This morning I rose in time to see this amazing scarlet sky in the east, framed by my boys bedroom window. Suffice it to say, they’re still kinda cute when they’re asleep. I kept that image when I dropped by SP (poetry group) to check out the challenge…and as I sat here, I don’t know. I guess its maternal hormones. Family dynamics have always intrigued me. And I have always known that my time with my boy kids is limited. If I am successful as a parent – they will reach that point of independence. I can’t be Britain and gun for them…I will have to let go. And it will suck…

On a lighter note. I’m back at Examiner again after a self imposed hiatus…so if you want to read some “Christian” stuff….click here – otherwise…peace.

Go hug ’em if you got em.

Responses

  1. Great poem!

    • thank you so much for your kind words. Are you a blogger here? I much appreciated your brief on your home page. Peace.

      • We have a wordpress blog here that been maintained a few years now. Came across you through the Twitter. Blessings

      • ah Twitter. Much like this blog page, I often forget I have a twitter account. Thank you again, and I checked out your book a bit too. Sounds wonderful.


Leave a Reply

Categories

