Posted by: tlboehm | June 17, 2014

Connect the Dots

Perhaps it’s self-induced sleep deprivation, or roundy round responsibilities boredom, or maybe it’s simply that the chili was so much more exciting “in theory” and the gelatinous red reality in my lunch bowl puts my dendrites in “anywhere but here” mode but whatever the reason I’m off on a tangent today.

Three hours of sleep kills filters and linear thought and it will be a struggle to keep this little lamentation going forward but it is that same disturbance in the force that compels me to write in the first place. The skips and blips in the sequencing make sense even though you aren’t up in my head. I hope you are able to connect the dots.

I read the writing of a beautiful soul today. Her name is Kate and I’ve known her for all of my “interwebs social network sojourn” and like so many writers she is passionate, capricious and pretty much unaware of the sheer talent residing between brain and fingertips. She reminded me that I long to tell stories. It’s deeper than a simple passion to create fiction, to transport a soul to a stellar place for a moment or a day. It is beyond my worth or identity as one person on the planet. There is a deeper burn at my core to connect those dots into something beyond now.

My little genealogy habit, maligned by my family and fueled by those heinous shaky leaves, is simply another expression of who I am as writer. It isn’t so much DOB, DOD get ‘er done click mcfamily as it is the story of the life rediscovered.  How sad that a legacy becomes a few scribbled lines on the back of a grimey data sheet, or a tic mark on a census.  I want to know why your mother’s name is nowhere to be found in the remnant electrical ghost of you. I want to know about your twin sisters, the ones that came state side with you – and then disappeared from the scant information I’ve found on the family.

I live in a community where families are still saturated in cultural identities they brought with them four hundred years ago. Yet I, for all my alacrity with technology and my ferreting skills can’t prove the identity of a maternal great grandparent. It disturbs my heart that someone’s little girl, someone’s mother is reduced to a simple granite marker. And so I continue to search. There is always that hope that I will find the story, the human, the life that mattered. And to be blunt – maybe I will find the arc in the storyline to prove that I matter as well.

We are story tellers for so many reasons. Perhaps you are the voice of those who no longer have the opportunity to speak. Write the story, then. No matter how simple it may be now, give it a generation to cure appropriately. It could be priceless for someone else. You may never know the end result and that’s ok. Just write it down…and do it now.

Peace. 

Responses

  1. Wow – thank you. I’ve just awakened from a long nap so forgive me if my comment sounds like it’s coming from someone who’s been drugged. Some of the best stories in genealogy are the ones that never quite add up, because we can only piece the scraps of evidence together and make a translation. Try going back to the International records of familysearch.org and see if you can narrow any of those options down, though I have found that many of them wanted to wipe their trail. I hate that mine left so few clues, but then I love the idea that their circumstances might have been such that they had no other choice and that they were clever enough to pull it off. That’s a story worth telling.

  2. Beautiful thoughts, and for a sleep deprived person, better put together than those of us who aren’t. I too have been going in starts and fits trying to track down family as far back as possible. It is a fun, discouraging, enlightening and ultimately triumphant undertaking, well worth the effort. And your absolutely right about Kate, I have been reading her works since we met on multiply and she is a very talented writer.

    • Sorry, Tammy, I wanted to share your post and Kara got confused. RANDY – Tammy really is an excellent writer. You should save her page and pay her a visit when you can.

  3. Love you! I like reading you’re blogs.:)

  4. no worries, Kate! You are awesome

  5. I feel the same way about Kate’s talent and your Genealogy. I enjoyed the fact that Kate shared it with me. She seems to know what I like.
    😀

  6. Hi Tamster, long time no chat…what a beautiful, thought provoking post…I too, long to know more about my ancestors. On the paternsl side (my dad is full-blooded Kuna) the natives of Panama kept an oral history of one’s lineage and it was easy to construct a chart of my dad’s side. My mother’s lineage is proving much more difficult…sigh…her family was in Panama only for five generations….it is great to reconnect with you.

  7. This was a wonderful post. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

